In short
A bigger down payment cuts interest in pesos, not the rate itself; no bank's rate table prices a loan lower for a bigger down payment. Paying one month in advance instead of in arrears saves a smaller amount.
A business-use loan's interest can be deducted from taxable income; a personal-use loan's cannot.
- RCBC, ₱1,000,000, 36 vs 60 months
- ₱169,800 vs ₱296,000 add-on interest
- BDO brand new vs EV/HEV, 60 months, effective
- 10.50% vs 8.50%
- EastWest, 60 months, in advance vs in arrears
- ₱291,080 vs ₱302,420 add-on interest, ₱1M financed
- BPI partial payment fee
- ₱500 per request
- China Bank AutoPlus pre-termination fee
- None
- Business-use interest deduction
- Allowed under NIRC Sec. 34(B); personal-use interest is not deductible
Does a shorter term cut your total interest?
Yes, by a large margin, but the monthly payment climbs. On RCBC's own calculator, ₱1,000,000 financed at 16.98% for 36 months adds ₱169,800 in interest across the loan, against ₱296,000 at 29.60% for 60 months.
That is ₱126,200 less interest for choosing the shorter term, at the cost of a monthly payment that rises from ₱21,600 to ₱32,495.
| Term | Rate | Monthly payment | Total add-on interest |
|---|---|---|---|
| 36 months | 16.98% | ₱32,495 | ₱169,800 |
| 60 months | 29.60% | ₱21,600 | ₱296,000 |
Does a bigger down payment lower the rate, or just the interest?
Only the peso amount of interest falls. None of RCBC, Metrobank, BPI, EastWest or Security Bank prices a loan differently because the buyer put more money down.
Every stated table varies by term, payment timing and new versus used only.
Financing ₱800,000 instead of ₱1,000,000 at RCBC's 60-month rate drops interest from ₱296,000 to ₱236,800, a ₱59,200 saving. That is purely because less principal is carrying the same 29.60% add-on rate.
- Interest on ₱1,000,000 at 29.60%, 60 months
- ₱296,000
- Interest on ₱800,000 at the same rate and term
- ₱236,800
Brand new, second hand and EV rates: where the biggest gaps sit
Second-hand rates run well above brand-new rates at every bank that keeps a separate table for it. At BPI, a 60-month brand-new loan is 11.19% effective against 15.50% on a used car.
BDO goes further and prices EV and hybrid vehicles below its regular brand-new rate. That is 8.50% effective at 60 months against 10.50% for a standard brand-new car, a gap of two full points.
| Category | 36 months | 60 months |
|---|---|---|
| Brand new, non-EV | 10.00% | 10.50% |
| EV or HEV | 8.00% | 8.50% |
| Pre-owned | 13.00% | not stated |
Does paying a month in advance actually save money?
A little, at the banks that offer the choice. On EastWest's own calculator, ₱1,000,000 financed for 60 months costs ₱302,420 in interest paid in arrears against ₱291,080 paid one month in advance.
That is a ₱11,340 difference on the same loan.
Metrobank and Security Bank state the same kind of two-column table. Check which column your quote is based on before comparing it to another bank's single rate.
- EastWest, 60 months, in arrears
- ₱302,420 interest
- EastWest, 60 months, in advance
- ₱291,080 interest
Can you prepay or pay extra to cut interest, and what does each bank charge?
Rules and fees differ bank by bank, and a live promo can block prepayment entirely. See early termination rules bank by bank for the fuller picture.
BPI charges ₱500 per partial payment request; the lump sum reduces the monthly amortization and keeps the original term.
China Bank's AutoPlus lets you pre-terminate free of charge. A partial payment must be at least six months' worth of amortization, and applies to principal on the loan's anniversary date.
EastWest applies a prepayment to the last installments first, or, at the bank's own option, to the nearest upcoming installments. It also charges a processing fee it does not fix in advance.
RCBC advertises zero pre-termination fees in its marketing, though its loan contract separately allows a service fee. Ask for the exact figure before assuming it is free.
| Bank | Pre-termination fee | Partial payment rule |
|---|---|---|
| BPI | Not stated for full pre-termination | ₱500 fee per partial payment; reduces the monthly amount, keeps the term |
| China Bank AutoPlus | None | Minimum six months' amortization, applied on the anniversary date |
| EastWest | Fee set by the bank, amount not fixed | Applied to the last installments first, or the bank's alternative option |
| RCBC | Advertised as zero, contract allows a service fee | Not detailed on the public page |
Can you deduct car loan interest from your taxes?
Only if the car is used in your profession, trade or business, and only the interest, never the principal. The Tax Code lets a cash-basis individual deduct the portion of interest that matches the principal amortized that year.
The deduction recurs every year you keep paying, not once.
Employees earning compensation income cannot deduct anything against that income; the Code blocks deductions there entirely. A personal, non-business car loan's interest also falls under the Code's ban on personal and family expense deductions.
Where the car is a business asset, you may choose to deduct the interest each year or capitalize it instead, not both. See the full tax-deduction breakdown for how this interacts with depreciation.
How do you compare two offers without getting misled by the rate?
Add-on and effective rates are not the same number, and mixing them makes one bank look cheaper than it is. BPI and Metrobank state both; Security Bank, EastWest and RCBC state one column each without stating which basis it is.
Compare within a bank first, term against term, before comparing across banks. See how to negotiate and compare car loan rates for the disclosure statement banks must give you before you sign.
