Skip to content

Car Loan Insurance Requirements in the Philippines: CTPL vs Your Bank's Own Cover (2026)

CTPL by law, comprehensive by the bank

₱560 CTPL for a private car, one year

Two different insurance requirements apply to a financed car, and they come from two different places. CTPL (third-party liability) is required by Republic Act 10607 for every registered vehicle, with a current benefit limit of P200,000.

On this page, 7 sections
  1. In short
  2. CTPL is the law. A comprehensive policy is your bank's rule.
  3. What each bank's own policy has to cover
  4. Can you use your own insurer instead of the bank's?
  5. Free insurance promos usually come with a lock-in
  6. What happens if you don't renew on time
  7. Questions

In short

A comprehensive motor policy is a separate requirement the bank adds, because your car is its collateral. Six banks name it as a condition of the loan, not of the law: BPI, BDO, Metrobank, UnionBank, Maybank and EastWest.

CTPL legal basis
Republic Act 10607 (Insurance Code), Secs. 387, 389, 390
Current CTPL third-party liability limit
P200,000 for all motor vehicle types (IC Memorandum Circular 2024-01)
Previous CTPL limit, before 2024
P100,000
CTPL death indemnity
P200,000, including burial and funeral expenses
CTPL no-fault indemnity
P30,000 for all motor vehicles
CTPL annual premium, private car (IC tariff)
P560.00 total, 1-year policy
Comprehensive insurance premium
Not stated as a peso figure by any bank or the Insurance Commission

CTPL is the law. A comprehensive policy is your bank's rule.

Republic Act 10607 makes it unlawful to operate a motor vehicle on public highways without proper cover. That cover means a compulsory motor vehicle liability insurance (CMVLI, commonly called CTPL) policy, cash guaranty, or surety bond in force.

The same law bars the LTO from registering or renewing registration without it. You can buy CTPL from any Insurance Commission-authorized insurer.

The statutory floor for a private car is P20,000 for bantam and light vehicles and P30,000 for heavy vehicles in any one accident. The actual benefit limits have since been raised well above that floor.

A comprehensive motor policy is a different thing entirely. No Philippine law requires it to drive a car.

It becomes a condition the moment you take out a car loan, because the bank wants its collateral protected. BPI states this directly.

One of the requirements for a BPI Auto Loan is full vehicle insurance coverage. It cannot be cancelled while the loan is outstanding.

CTPL versus a comprehensive policy
CTPLComprehensive policy
Required byLaw (RA 10607)Your lender's loan contract
CoversThird-party death, injury, property damageYour own car: theft, fire, collision, Acts of Nature (varies)
Current limitP200,000 (all vehicle types)Not stated; based on vehicle value
1-year premium (private car)P560.00, per IC tariffNot stated as a fixed figure
Who requires itLTO, for registrationBPI, BDO, Metrobank, UnionBank, Maybank, EastWest

What each bank's own policy has to cover

BDO calls full vehicle insurance a post-approval requirement, covering damage, theft, malicious acts, collision liabilities, fire, personal accident, and natural disasters.

Metrobank's own FAQ names it precisely: a full motorcar insurance policy with Acts of Nature cover, renewed every year until the loan is paid off. EastWest requires a comprehensive policy with Acts of God (AOG) cover from an EWB-accredited insurer.

Maybank and UnionBank both go further in their fine print. Maybank's terms require cover to the vehicle's full insurable value until the loan is fully paid, with the policy naming Maybank as creditor and mortgagee.

UnionBank's own terms require an amount not less than the outstanding loan balance, with a loss payable clause satisfactory to UnionBank. They also require a renewal policy submitted at least 30 days before expiry.

BDO
Damage, theft, malicious acts, collision, fire, personal accident, natural disasters
Metrobank
Full motor policy with Acts of Nature cover; renewed annually
EastWest
Comprehensive policy with Acts of God (AOG), from an EWB-accredited insurer
Maybank
Accident, theft, fire, flood, lightning, Acts of God; full insurable value
UnionBank
Amount not less than outstanding loan balance; loss payable clause required

Can you use your own insurer instead of the bank's?

At BPI, yes, if your account is not under a Free Insurance arrangement. BPI's own help article lets you procure insurance from your preferred insurance company.

The original policy must name BPI as mortgagee, include Acts of Nature coverage, and come with proof of payment. Submit it after your existing policy expires, and BPI may charge cancellation fees on its own bank-placed policy.

If your BPI account came with Free Insurance, you are locked into renewing with BPI/MS Insurance for the rest of the loan term. Switching means paying the full first-year premium yourself.

UnionBank and Maybank both require the insurer to be "acceptable" to the bank, without naming a specific list.

If you do not provide a compliant policy, several banks reserve the right to buy one for you and add the cost to your loan. UnionBank's terms let it purchase the required policy on your behalf.

Maybank's terms give it the same option, without obligation.

4 of 4 still to check

Free insurance promos usually come with a lock-in

EastWest's free 1-year insurance promo runs for applications approved between August 10 and November 10, 2026. It locks that insurance in with EastWest Insurance Brokerage for the loan term.

Your own policy is not accepted under the promo, and the promo explicitly does not include CTPL. RCBC runs a related arrangement through Malayan Insurance, which has checked RCBC Auto Loan borrowers' yearly insurance compliance since January 1, 2023.

RCBC's Auto Loan Plus product bundles insurance in for free; its Regular Auto Loan and Auto Loan Flexilite both charge a separate insurance fee.

Read the promo terms before assuming "free insurance" means no cost or no restriction. It usually means one insurer, for one term, with CTPL billed separately.

A free insurance promo is not the same as free CTPL. EastWest's own August to November 2026 promo states plainly that CTPL is not included. The mortgage itself, not the insurance, is covered in the chattel mortgage guide.

What happens if you don't renew on time

Metrobank states a specific late fee: PHP 3,000 for renewal documents submitted beyond 30 days from the policy anniversary date. UnionBank's terms describe the underlying mechanism most banks use.

If you do not provide the renewal policy in time, the bank may purchase the insurance itself. It then adds the cost, with interest, to what you owe.

Maybank's contract gives it the same option, at its discretion.

This is usually called force-placed insurance, though no bank in this guide uses that exact term on its own pages. The practical effect is the same everywhere it is described.

You end up paying for a policy you did not choose, on top of a late fee at banks that state one. Run the added cost through the car loan calculator before you let a renewal lapse.

Questions

Is comprehensive insurance required for a financed car in the Philippines?

Yes, by your bank, not by law. BPI, BDO, Metrobank, UnionBank, Maybank and EastWest name a full motor insurance policy as a condition of the auto loan.

That is because the car is their collateral.

What is the difference between CTPL and a comprehensive motor policy?

CTPL is legally required to register any vehicle, under Republic Act 10607, currently carrying a P200,000 third-party liability limit.

That policy is a separate, lender-imposed requirement that covers your own car against theft, fire, and collision, and is not required by law.

How much does CTPL cost?

The Insurance Commission's own tariff sets a 1-year private car premium at P560.00, unchanged even after the 2024 increase in CTPL benefit limits.

Can I choose my own insurer instead of the bank's?

At BPI, yes, if your account has no Free Insurance arrangement, provided the policy names BPI as mortgagee and includes Acts of Nature coverage. UnionBank and Maybank require an insurer "acceptable" to the bank without naming a specific list.

What happens if I don't renew my car insurance on time?

Metrobank charges PHP 3,000 for renewal documents submitted more than 30 days late. Several banks, including UnionBank and Maybank, reserve the right to buy a policy on your behalf and add the cost to your loan.

Do free insurance promos include CTPL?

Not at EastWest. Its August to November 2026 promo excludes CTPL and places the policy with its own insurance brokerage for the whole loan term.

Read next

Answer 5 questions to see the three car loans that fit you, or browse every car loan guide.