Skip to content

Car Loan vs Cash Purchase in the Philippines (2026)

A car loan always costs more than cash

31.01% BPI add-on over 60 months on a brand-new car

A car loan is never the same price as cash. On BPI's own 60-month rate, 31.01% add-on works out to an 11.19% effective rate.

On this page, 9 sections
  1. In short
  2. How much more do you pay if you finance instead of paying cash?
  3. Fees a loan adds that a cash buyer never pays
  4. Insurance, and who holds the OR and CR
  5. Do dealers give a bigger discount for cash?
  6. How do I know if a car was bought in cash or is still under a loan?
  7. Is it better to invest the cash and take a loan instead?
  8. What the bank has to show you before you sign
  9. Questions

In short

On top of that comes documentary stamp tax and an LTO encumbrance fee. There's also comprehensive insurance you must renew every year until the loan is paid off.

Across the banks on this page, the add-on rate on a 60-month brand-new loan runs 25.80% to 32.52%.

Paying cash skips all of that, but no bank or regulator states a return that makes investing the cash instead of financing a clear win. That comparison is a gap below, not a claim.

BPI brand-new, 60 months
31.01% add-on
BPI second-hand, 60 months
44.32% add-on / 15.50% effective
Metrobank brand-new, 60 months
30.26% add-on
LTO encumbrance fee
₱500 (BPI); ₱380 (BDO)
Documentary stamp tax
₱1.50 per ₱200 financed (BDO, Metrobank)
CTPL, private car, one year
₱560 (cash and financed buyers pay this alike)
PPSR notice registration
₱380; a search itself is free (LRA)
Break-even investment return vs a loan
Not stated by any lender or regulator

How much more do you pay if you finance instead of paying cash?

Take a Toyota Vios 1.3 J M/T at its official ₱738,000 price and put 20% down, ₱147,600. The remaining ₱590,400 is what gets financed.

On BPI's own stated add-on rate, a 36-month loan costs ₱19,312.64 a month. A 60-month loan drops that to ₱12,891.38 a month but adds far more interest over the life of the loan.

Cash skips both the interest and the fees below. The table excludes insurance, LTO fees and notarial charges, which sit in the next section.

This is one bank on one car. Compare bank rate tables before assuming BPI's numbers apply to your own choice of bank or term.

Vehicle used for this example
Toyota Vios 1.3 J M/T, ₱738,000 (toyota.com.ph)
Down payment assumed
20%, ₱147,600
Amount financed
₱590,400
Cash vs BPI financing on the same ₱738,000 car, 20% down (illustration, excludes fees and insurance)
Payment methodMonthly paymentTotal paid, loan plus down payment
CashNone₱738,000
BPI loan, 36 months, 17.76% add-on₱19,312.64₱842,855.04
BPI loan, 60 months, 31.01% add-on₱12,891.38₱921,083.04

Fees a loan adds that a cash buyer never pays

A cash sale is one payment. A financed sale adds a chattel mortgage on the car, and every fee that mortgage carries.

On the ₱590,400 financed in the example above, documentary stamp tax alone is ₱4,428. That is ₱1.50 per ₱200 financed (BDO and Metrobank both state this rate).

None of this touches a cash buyer.

See the BPI, BDO and Metrobank pages for each bank's full fee schedule.

Loan-only fees, by bank
FeeAmountBank
LTO encumbrance fee₱500BPI
LTO encumbrance fee₱380BDO
Cancellation of mortgage, after payoff₱800BPI
Facilitation fee₱2,000 Metro Manila, up to ₱5,000 Visayas or MindanaoBPI
Documentary stamp tax₱1.50 per ₱200 financedBDO, Metrobank
Release of mortgage₱500BDO

Insurance, and who holds the OR and CR

CTPL is compulsory for every car on the road, cash or financed. LTO will not register or renew a vehicle without it, and the private-car tariff is ₱560 for one year.

A financed car adds comprehensive insurance on top. Metrobank and BDO both require it as a condition of the loan.

Metrobank's own FAQ tells the borrower to renew it every year until the loan is paid off. A cash buyer can skip comprehensive insurance entirely if they choose to.

While the loan runs, the bank keeps the OR and CR. Metrobank states this directly: they stay with the bank until you pay off the loan.

A cash buyer holds both from day one.

CTPL, private car, one year
₱560 (cash and financed alike)
Comprehensive insurance
Required annually while a loan runs (Metrobank, BDO); optional for cash
OR and CR
Held by the bank until payoff (Metrobank); held by the owner from day one if cash

Do dealers give a bigger discount for cash?

Sometimes, and it depends on the brand's current promo, not a fixed rule.

Ford's September 2026 offers give a choice per variant: a cash discount or an all-in low down payment, never both. A Ranger Wildtrak 2.0L Bi-Turbo 4x2 AT, from ₱1,964,000, carries a ₱250,000 cash discount or a ₱69,000 all-in down payment.

MG's Rainy Day promo works the same way. Pick one of cash discount, financing package, low down payment or low monthly amortization, never more than one per unit.

Isuzu runs the opposite pattern on its D-MAX and mu-X: the September 2026 cash discount applies to cash, purchase order and financing transactions alike. Financing does not lose that particular discount.

Check our promo roundup for what is still running.

Cash discount vs financing alternative, September 2026 promos
Brand and modelCash discountFinancing alternative
Ford Ranger Wildtrak 2.0L Bi-Turbo 4x2 AT₱250,000₱69,000 all-in down payment (not both)
Ford Territory Hybrid Trend₱20,000₱79,000 all-in down payment (not both)
Isuzu D-MAX RZ4E 4x2 LS AT₱150,000Same ₱150,000 discount applies to financed purchases too

How do I know if a car was bought in cash or is still under a loan?

Search the Personal Property Security Registry. A financed car carries a security interest annotated against it, and the PPSR lets a buyer search that before handing over money.

A search does not guarantee clear title on its own. Treat it as one check among several, alongside the LTO CR itself, which shows an encumbrance annotation while a loan is active.

3 of 3 still to check

Is it better to invest the cash and take a loan instead?

No bank, regulator or stated source states a break-even investment return against car loan financing, and none should be assumed. A car loan's real cost is the effective rate the bank lists, not a single flat percentage.

Any generic figure claiming a loan is cheaper than an investment return is not something a lender or the BSP has put a number on.

Compare the effective rate on your own bank's table against a specific, dated investment return you can verify yourself, not a rule of thumb.

Gap: no lender or regulator states a break-even return figure for this comparison. Treat any specific percentage you see elsewhere as unsourced.

What the bank has to show you before you sign

Before the loan is consummated, the Truth in Lending Act requires a written statement. The statement must show the cash price, the down payment, every non-credit charge, and the total amount financed.

It must also state the finance charge, both in pesos and as a simple annual rate.

Ask for that statement and compare its effective rate line against the cash price above before signing. See our guide to negotiating and comparing car loan rates for what is and is not stated.

Questions

Is it cheaper to pay cash or take a car loan in the Philippines?

Cash is cheaper on paper because it skips interest, fees and required annual insurance renewal. On BPI's own 60-month rate, 31.01% add-on works out to an 11.19% effective rate over the life of the loan, before fees.

How do I know if a car is cash or still on installment?

Search the Personal Property Security Registry for a security interest, and ask to see the LTO CR. A financed vehicle carries an encumbrance annotation until the bank cancels the mortgage after full payment.

Do I need insurance if I pay cash for a car?

CTPL is compulsory either way, at ₱560 a year for a private car. Comprehensive insurance is optional if you pay cash, but banks such as Metrobank and BDO require it every year while a loan is active.

Do dealers give a discount for paying cash?

It depends on the promo. Ford and MG offer a cash discount as an alternative to a low down payment, never both.

Isuzu's September 2026 cash discount applies to cash, purchase order and financed sales alike.

Who holds the OR and CR while I am paying off a car loan?

The bank. Metrobank states the OR and CR stay with the bank until the loan is paid off.

A cash buyer holds both documents from the day of purchase.

Is it better to invest my cash and take a loan instead?

No lender or regulator states a break-even return for this comparison, so there is no sourced answer. Compare your bank's effective rate against a specific, dated return you can verify yourself, not a rule of thumb.

Read next

Answer 5 questions to see the three car loans that fit you, or browse every car loan guide.