In short
You must also be a member first. Perpetual Help Community Cooperative charges 8.25% a year straight line (15.6% diminishing) up to ₱3 million.
KooPinoy charges 13% a year over terms up to 5 years. A bank car loan on ₱1,000,000 over 60 months starts at ₱20,967 a month at UnionBank, for comparison.
- Regulator
- Cooperative Development Authority (CDA)
- Governing law
- Republic Act 9520, the Philippine Cooperative Code of 2008
- Credit cooperatives nationwide
- 2,874, out of 20,962 cooperatives total (2024 CDA statistics)
- Prerequisite to borrow
- Membership, including a Pre-Membership Education Seminar (PMES)
Can I get a car loan from a cooperative?
Yes, from a specific cooperative you join, not from "cooperatives" as a single provider. The Cooperative Development Authority (CDA) is the sole government agency that registers cooperatives in the Philippines.
It does so under the Philippine Cooperative Code of 2008 (Republic Act 9520). As of the 2024 CDA statistics, based on the FY 2023 operations report, there are 20,962 registered cooperatives nationwide.
Of these, 2,874 are credit-type cooperatives and 7,957 are multipurpose, some of which also lend to members.
RA 9520 defines a credit cooperative as one that promotes and undertakes savings and lending services for its members only. It reserves the term "credit cooperative" for entities actually registered with the CDA.
Loans for a productive or provident purpose, which a car purchase falls under, may be granted to members. But every cooperative decides its own rate, term and down payment.
There is no CDA-set national figure for any of them.
Becoming a member comes first
Because RA 9520 restricts lending to members, you cannot walk into a cooperative and apply for a car loan. This differs from how you would apply at a bank.
A prospective member of a primary cooperative must first complete a Pre-Membership Education Seminar, or PMES, which most cooperatives run in person or online. Cooperatives recognize two kinds of members, regular and associate.
RA 9520 exempts a member's transactions with their own cooperative, including a loan, from taxes and fees such as documentary stamp tax.
- Choose a CDA-registered cooperative near you
Confirm its registration against the CDA's own cooperative masterlist before joining.
- Complete the Pre-Membership Education Seminar (PMES)
Required before you can become a regular or associate member of most primary cooperatives.
- Build savings with the cooperative
Most cooperatives base your loan eligibility and amount on your capacity to pay and savings record, not a fixed income floor.
- Apply for that cooperative's specific vehicle loan product
Rate, term, down payment and documents are set by the individual cooperative, not by a national standard.
Three cooperatives that carry a car loan, compared
Rates and terms vary sharply between cooperatives, so this guide names three that state their own figures rather than inventing a national average. Perpetual Help Community Cooperative (PHCCI), based in Dumaguete, finances a brand new or second-hand vehicle.
Its rate is 8.25% a year on a straight-line basis, or 15.6% a year diminishing, up to a maximum of ₱3 million.
It is available to members not older than 69 at loan maturity, based on their CIBI capacity to pay. Sagip Ipon-Dagdag Capital (SIDC), through its KooPinoy product, finances a brand new or second-hand car at 13% a year.
It charges a 24% a year penalty rate, over terms up to 5 years, up to ₱5,000,000. It requires one co-maker and 20% equity on a brand new unit.
MagCoop also offers a Car Loan for a brand new or second-hand car, though it does not state a rate on its own page.
| Cooperative | Rate | Maximum amount | Term | New or used |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Perpetual Help Community Cooperative | 8.25% a year straight line (15.6% diminishing) | ₱3,000,000 | Not stated | Brand new or second-hand |
| SIDC (KooPinoy) | 13% a year (24% penalty) | ₱5,000,000 | Up to 5 years | Brand new or second-hand |
| MagCoop | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Brand new or second-hand |
How to check a cooperative is legitimate
CDA maintains a cooperative masterlist, including a 2023 list of operating cooperatives with their status. You can use it to confirm a cooperative's registration before joining or borrowing.
CDA also implements the Financial Products and Services Consumer Protection Act (Republic Act 11765) for cooperatives, with its own consumer protection manual.
If you have a complaint about a cooperative lender, CDA's office is at 827 Aurora Boulevard, Service Road, Barangay Immaculate Conception, Cubao, Quezon City. You can also call (02) 8725-3764.
4 of 4 still to check
Why straight line versus diminishing matters
Perpetual Help Community Cooperative's own numbers show why this distinction matters. The same loan is quoted at 8.25% a year on a straight-line basis, but 15.6% a year if computed as diminishing balance.
A straight-line rate is applied to the full original amount for the whole term. A diminishing rate is applied only to what you still owe.
The two produce very different total costs even when the headline percentage looks small. Ask any cooperative which basis its quoted rate uses before comparing it to a bank's own figure.
How a coop loan compares to a bank car loan
A cooperative loan can beat a bank on rate, as PHCCI's 8.25% straight-line figure shows. But it requires membership, savings history and sometimes a co-maker, none of which a bank asks for.
For a faster, membership-free option, BPI and Security Bank both carry current rate tables. The car loan calculator compares all 8 banks for your own down payment and term.
On a ₱1,000,000 loan over 60 months, add-on rates at the 7 that quote one currently span 25.80% to 32.52%. That compares against PHCCI's 15.6% diminishing-balance figure for the same kind of loan.