Skip to content

UCPB Auto Loan: Why It Is Now UCPB Savings Bank (2026)

UCPB merged into LANDBANK in 2022

20% down on a new car at UCPB Savings Bank

United Coconut Planters Bank (UCPB) no longer exists as a separate bank; it merged into Land Bank of the Philippines on March 1, 2022.

On this page, 7 sections
  1. In short
  2. What happened to UCPB?
  3. UCPB Savings Bank Auto Loan: down payment and term
  4. Who qualifies
  5. Documents, fees and processing time
  6. Contact UCPB Savings Bank, and compare against other banks
  7. Questions

In short

The lender that still carries the UCPB name and offers an Auto Loan is UCPB Savings Bank, a LANDBANK subsidiary now being privatized. It offers 20% down for a new car, 30% for second-hand, and terms up to 5 years.

A bank car loan on ₱1,000,000 over 60 months elsewhere starts at ₱20,967 a month at UnionBank.

UCPB merger status
Merged into LANDBANK, effective March 1, 2022 (Executive Order No. 142)
Lender that still offers an auto loan
UCPB Savings Bank, Inc., a LANDBANK subsidiary
Down payment
20% new car, 30% second-hand car
Term
Up to 5 years new, up to 3 years second-hand

Check which banks' rules you meet

Loan length: 5 years.

Enter your age and monthly income to see which banks' rules you meet.

The banks' stated minimums. Banks also check your credit record and documents; meeting these rules is not an approval. Security Bank's income rule differs between its own pages, so this tool leaves it out.

What happened to UCPB?

United Coconut Planters Bank merged into Land Bank of the Philippines under Executive Order No. 142, effective March 1, 2022. It stopped operating as a separate commercial bank.

The name did not disappear entirely. UCPB Savings Bank, Inc. (UCPBS) is a savings bank that started operations in 1962.

It became a LANDBANK subsidiary the same day, and it is the entity that still carries an Auto Loan under the UCPB name.

UCPB Savings Bank is now itself in transition. LANDBANK is selling its 97.55% ownership share under a privatization the President approved through Memorandum Order No. 28 in August 2024.

LANDBANK has stated that all banking services continue without interruption through the process. As of December 2025, UCPB Savings Bank runs 48 branches, 12 branch lites and 3 lending offices.

UCPB Savings Bank Auto Loan: down payment and term

UCPB Savings Bank's Auto Loan finances both new and second-hand vehicles. A new car needs 20% down of the net cash price.

The term runs from a minimum of 1 year up to a maximum of 5 years. A second-hand car needs 30% down, over a term of up to 3 years.

The vehicle's model year also cannot be more than 5 years old at the time of availment. The loan amount is simply the car's price less your down payment, with no stated peso minimum or maximum.

UCPB Savings Bank does not state an interest rate figure in its product text, saying only that the "prevailing interest at time of availment" applies.

Its online calculator does show a rate for each term, from 6.56% at 12 months to 36.34% at 60 months. But the page does not say whether that figure is a yearly rate or an add-on total.

So this guide does not present it as UCPB Savings Bank's official rate. Confirm the actual rate at application.

UCPB Savings Bank Auto Loan, new versus second-hand
ItemNew carSecond-hand car
Down payment20% of net cash price30% of net cash price
Term1 to 5 yearsUp to 3 years
Vehicle age limitNot statedModel year within 5 years of availment
CollateralChattel mortgage on the financed unitChattel mortgage on the financed unit

Who qualifies

You need to be at least 23 years old when you apply, and Filipino or a foreign national with a working permit.

You also need to be no older than 65 at loan maturity if you are employed, or 70 if you are self-employed.

UCPB Savings Bank states a credit ratio rule of 30%, meaning your total monthly amortization should not exceed roughly 30% of your gross monthly income. It also asks for 3 years at your current address if you are renting.

No fixed peso minimum income is stated; your eligibility is computed against that 30% ratio instead.

Minimum age
23 years old at application
Maximum age at maturity
65 (employed), 70 (self-employed)
Credit ratio
Around 30% of amortization to gross monthly income
Residence tenure if renting
3 years

Documents, fees and processing time

The base document list is a completed application form and proof of income. It also includes collateral documents such as a quotation sheet, the car's history and an appraisal report.

Proof of income differs by employment type. Locally employed applicants show the latest 3 months of payslips, a Certificate of Employment with Compensation and an ITR.

Applicants working abroad show a Certificate of Employment with Compensation or POEA Standard Contract, plus the latest 3 months of payslips.

Self-employed applicants show an ITR with audited financial statements, DTI registration, a Mayor's or business permit, and the latest 3 months of bank statements.

UCPB Savings Bank's 2026 Citizen's Charter states a vehicle appraisal fee of ₱1,000 at the appraiser's office, or ₱2,000 within 50 kilometers of it. It lists the application processing fee itself as "None".

The Charter's total processing time is 8 days and 3 hours from a complete document submission. That may be extended if the bank asks for more documents.

After approval you sign loan documents, arrange post-dated checks or an automatic debit, and provide an insurance policy and chattel mortgage paperwork before release.

  1. Confirm your down payment and term against the new-or-used table

    20% down for a new car, 30% for second-hand, with the used car no more than 5 years old.

  2. Gather your proof-of-income documents

    The exact list depends on whether you are locally employed, working abroad, or self-employed.

    • Application form
    • Proof of income
    • Quotation sheet, car history and appraisal report
  3. Apply at a UCPBS branch, business center, or online

    Submit the pre-approval requirements; the Auto Loan Application Form is also available for upload on the bank's site.

  4. Sign post-approval documents and arrange payment

    Post-dated checks or an automatic debit arrangement, plus insurance and chattel mortgage paperwork, come before release.

Contact UCPB Savings Bank, and compare against other banks

General inquiries go to (02) 8811-0278 or Smart 0998-591-9006, Monday to Friday, or usb-camu@ucpbsavings.com. Its head office sits at the 7th Floor, Robinsons Cybergate Magnolia, Aurora Boulevard corner Doña Hemady Street, Quezon City.

UCPB Savings Bank does not state a clear rate figure, so compare it against a bank that does before you commit. Landbank, UCPB Savings Bank's own parent, sets its down payment as low as 5% for depositors.

BPI starts at 15%. The car loan calculator lines up all 8 rate-confirmed banks for the same loan amount and term.

On a ₱1,000,000 loan over 60 months, add-on rates at the 7 that quote one currently span 25.80% to 32.52%.

Questions

Does UCPB still offer a car loan, and who runs it now?

UCPB merged into LANDBANK on March 1, 2022. UCPB Savings Bank, Inc., a LANDBANK subsidiary now being privatized, is the lender that still carries an Auto Loan under the UCPB name.

What is the UCPB Savings Bank auto loan interest rate?

Not stated as a figure. The product page says only "prevailing interest at time of availment".

Its calculator shows unlabelled per-term figures from 6.56% to 36.34%, which this guide does not present as an official rate.

How much down payment does UCPB Savings Bank ask for?

20% of the net cash price for a new car, 30% for a second-hand car.

What loan term does UCPB Savings Bank offer?

Up to 5 years for a new car, up to 3 years for a second-hand car. That car must be no more than 5 years old at availment.

What documents does UCPB Savings Bank ask for?

A completed application form, proof of income matching your employment type, and collateral documents such as a quotation sheet, car history and appraisal report.

How long does UCPB Savings Bank take to approve a car loan?

Its 2026 Citizen's Charter states 8 days and 3 hours from a complete document submission, which may be extended if more documents are requested.

Read next

Answer 5 questions to see the three car loans that fit you, or browse every car loan guide.