In short
BPI's regular-bike add-on rate runs 2.43% to 2.88% a month, while its car loan charges a 31.01% add-on once for a whole 60-month term.
Security Bank asks for a 30% down payment on a motorcycle against as low as 15% on a car. Down payments on a regular bike start at 5% (BPI, Cebuana Lhuillier Bank).
Big bikes over 400cc need 20% to 30% down and a separate application everywhere they are sold.
- Lenders compared
- 8: BPI, Security Bank, SB Finance, Cebuana Lhuillier Bank, Malayan Savings Bank, Bank of Makati, AUB, Home Credit
- Regular-bike down payment
- 5% minimum (BPI, Cebuana Lhuillier Bank)
- Big-bike (400cc+) down payment
- 20% to 30% (Security Bank 30%, Cebuana Lhuillier Bank Big Bikes 20%, BPI Big Bike no minimum stated beyond standard)
- Regular-bike rate basis
- Add-on per month: BPI 2.43% to 2.88%; SB Finance 0.75% (medium/high-end) to 2.8% (regular)
- Big-bike loan term ceiling
- Up to 60 months (Cebuana Lhuillier Bank); most lenders cap at 36 to 48 months
Which banks and lenders finance a motorcycle in the Philippines?
Eight lenders state a named motorcycle product on their own site. BPI has a Motorcycle Loan, also called Motorsiklo Loan.
Security Bank has a Motorcycle Loan and a separate Big Bike Loan. SB Finance has MotorsikLOAN, through the zuki app.
Cebuana Lhuillier Bank also lends on motorcycles. The other four are Malayan Savings Bank, Bank of Makati, AUB (Big Bike Loan only) and Home Credit (in-store installment at 500+ dealer partners).
RCBC's own auto loan page says it finances "brand-new and second-hand cars to motorcycles," but states no motorcycle-specific rate, term or down payment. GSIS runs a Ginhawa Bike and E-Mobility Loan Program (GBEL) for members.
Its terms page carries no visible rate content. Treat it as a member benefit to confirm at a GSIS branch, not a stated rate.
A regular auto loan is a different product from these. If a lender does not appear on this list, its car loan terms do not automatically apply to a motorcycle.
| Lender | Scope | Down payment | Term | Rate basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BPI | Regular bikes under 250cc; big bikes via a separate page | 5% (regular, selected units); 8% second-hand; none stated (AYALA/GG) | 12, 24, 36 mo (48 for non-conventional) | Add-on 2.43% to 2.88% per month |
| Security Bank | Big bikes, 400cc and up, min. SRP ₱300,000 | 30% of purchase price | Up to 36 months | Add-on (net), in-arrears vs one-month-advance columns |
| SB Finance | Brand new or pre-owned, any class, up to ₱2,000,000 | Not stated | 12 to 36 mo (48 for high-end) | 0.75% monthly (medium/high-end) to 2.8% (regular) |
| Cebuana Lhuillier Bank | Regular, Medium, Big Bikes, Vespa | 5% (regular) to 20% (big bikes) | 12 to 60 months (big bikes) | Not stated |
| Malayan Savings Bank | Up to ₱300,000; big bikes 400cc+ separately | 30% (big bikes) | 12 to 36 months | Prevailing rate at approval, not stated |
| AUB | Big bikes, 400cc and up, only | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
What is the interest rate, and can lenders be ranked by it?
No. The stated rates use at least three different bases and cannot be converted into one ranking without guessing at what each lender leaves out. BPI's regular-bike figure is a monthly add-on rate (2.43% to 2.88%).
Its Big Bike page instead quotes a whole-term add-on rate next to an effective annual rate. That rate runs 8.83% add-on / 15.92% effective at 12 months, rising to 27.84% add-on / 16.72% effective at 36 months.
Security Bank's Motorcycle Loan table and its separate Big Bike Loan table both use whole-term add-on rates. Both split those rates into "in arrears" and "with one month advance" columns, but the two tables do not match each other.
The Motorcycle Loan page shows 8.00% at 12 months. The Big Bike page shows 5.89% at 12 months for what should be the same product tier.
SB Finance states only a flat "monthly interest rate," with no basis given.
Because of this, a page that claims one lender is cheapest for a motorcycle is guessing. What can be said honestly: BPI and SB Finance state the lowest-looking monthly figures on their face.
Security Bank states the fastest approval time, 1 banking day. And none of the eight lenders states a processing fee, a chattel mortgage fee or a late-payment penalty for a motorcycle loan.
The car loan calculator runs the same eight lenders' passenger-car numbers side by side, for reference only. None of those rates apply to a motorcycle.
- BPI regular bike, 12 months
- 2.43% to 2.88% add-on per month
- BPI Big Bike, 12 months
- 8.83% add-on / 15.92% effective (whole term)
- Security Bank Motorcycle Loan, 12 months
- 8.00% add-on, in arrears
- Security Bank Big Bike Loan, 12 months
- 5.89% add-on, in arrears (different table, same bank)
- SB Finance
- 0.75% to 2.8% monthly (basis not further stated)
Commuter bike or big bike: the split that changes the loan
Lenders draw a hard line at 400cc. Below it, a bike is a "regular" or "commuter" unit.
BPI, Cebuana Lhuillier Bank and Home Credit all finance these with a down payment as low as 5%. They also ask for an income requirement in the tens of thousands of pesos, and approval through a dealer counter.
At 400cc and above, four lenders run a separate Big Bike product with its own page: BPI, Security Bank, Malayan Savings Bank and AUB. All four ask for a minimum unit price.
Security Bank and Malayan both set it at ₱300,000. They also ask for a 20% to 30% down payment and a joint monthly income floor, which Security Bank states as ₱100,000.
Security Bank's Big Bike Loan is open only to "qualified borrowers: valued depositors and GRC" [government-referred clients]. Its regular Motorcycle Loan does not carry that restriction.
A TODA (tricycle operators and drivers' association) unit follows a third set of rules. BPI's TODA track asks for a franchise decision, the unit's OR/CR or deed of sale, and a TODA certificate, at a 5% down payment.
| Detail | Commuter/regular | Big bike (400cc+) |
|---|---|---|
| Down payment | 5% and up (BPI, Cebuana) | 20% to 30% (Security Bank, Malayan, BPI) |
| Minimum unit price | Not stated | ₱300,000 (Security Bank, Malayan) |
| Income floor | Not stated for most | ₱100,000 joint monthly (Security Bank) |
| Term ceiling | 36 months (most); Cebuana regular 36 | 36 months (Security Bank, Malayan); Cebuana big bikes 60 |
How to pay once the loan is running
BPI's motorcycle channel list is longer than its own car loan list. The channels are Premiumbikes and Summit Superbikes dealer stores, RBank/BPI branches, and the BPI app or online bills payment.
Additional channels are 7-Eleven, ECPay and Cebuana Lhuillier over the counter. SB Finance runs payments through Security Bank branches and ATMs, auto-debit, its Online/Mobile Banker, GCash, and partner counters at CVM Pawnshop, Gaisano Malls and 7-Eleven.
Cebuana Lhuillier Bank lists Auto Debit Arrangement, post-dated checks and salary deduction.
For a channel not listed here, ask the lender directly rather than assume a car loan's payment options carry over. This list applies only to the motorcycle products named above.
The document list a bank asks of any borrower, motorcycle or car, sits at car loan requirements.
3 of 3 still to check
New-bike financing is not the same market as a repo unit
Everything above is new or pre-owned financing arranged through a bank or a bank's finance arm. The lender owns the paper until the loan is paid off.
A separate market exists for repossessed units sold outright by the lender's own repo warehouse or by resellers. SB Finance runs its own Repo Warehouse.
Independent resellers such as Sumisho and L.A. Motorcycle Trading sell bank-repossessed bikes for cash or their own in-house terms.
These are a different transaction. A repo unit is sold as-is, usually for cash or a short in-house payment plan set by the seller.
It is not a bank-underwritten motorcycle loan with the rates and down payments in the tables above. A listing may offer a repossessed bike at a price that looks far below the new-unit financing figures on this page.
That listing is answering a different question: "where can I buy a used bike cheaply," not "how do I finance a new one."
A Facebook post advertising a repo motorcycle at a flat cash price is not a bank motorcycle loan, even if it names a bank. Confirm which of the two you are looking at before sending money.