Skip to content

New vs Used Car Loan Rates in the Philippines (2026)

A used car loan costs more

15.50% BPI effective rate, used car, 60 months, against 11.19% new

A used car loan costs more at every bank that keeps a separate table for it. At BPI, a 60-month brand-new loan runs 31.01% add-on against 44.32% for a used car, an effective rate of 11.19% versus 15.50%.

On this page, 7 sections
  1. In short
  2. How much more does a used car loan cost, bank by bank?
  3. How much more is the monthly payment for the same amount?
  4. Are used car loans stricter, and which banks are more flexible?
  5. How old can the car be, per bank?
  6. Is approval slower for a used car?
  7. Questions

In short

Used car loans come with tighter terms too: shorter maximum tenors, bigger down payments, and slower approval than a brand-new application.

BPI, 60 months, new vs used, effective
11.19% vs 15.50%
BPI loan-to-value, new vs used
85% vs 70% of purchase price
Security Bank down payment, new vs used
20% vs 30%
Security Bank approval time, new vs used
1 banking day vs 3 to 5 banking days
Security Bank maximum vehicle age
Age plus loan tenor within 11 years
BDO pre-owned vehicle age cap
Year model within 6 years of loan maturity
Metrobank and PNB
Brand-new vehicles only; no used-car product

How much more does a used car loan cost, bank by bank?

Every bank that separates new and used pricing charges more for used. BPI's gap is the clearest because it labels both add-on and effective rates.

At 60 months, that is 31.01% add-on brand new against 44.32% used, or 11.19% effective against 15.50%. See BPI's full rate table for every term.

Security Bank, EastWest and RCBC do not label their basis. Compare each bank's own new-versus-used gap; lining the banks up against each other would mean comparing different bases.

New vs used, 60-month rate, one bank at a time
BankBrand newUsedBasis
BPI31.01% add-on / 11.19% effective44.32% add-on / 15.50% effectiveLabelled
Security Bank32.52%Not stated at 60 months (caps at 48)Not labelled
EastWest29.11%Not stated at 60 months (caps at 48)Not labelled
RCBC29.60%Not stated at 60 months (caps at 48)Not labelled
BDO, annual effective10.50%13.00% (at 48 months, its longest pre-owned term)Effective, declining balance

How much more is the monthly payment for the same amount?

On a ₱500,000 loan at BPI's own add-on figures, a 36-month brand-new loan costs ₱16,355.56 a month against ₱17,333.33 for a used car. That is a difference of ₱977.78 a month.

At 48 months the gap widens slightly in pesos: ₱12,930.21 against ₱13,979.17.

RCBC's calculator shows the same pattern on the same loan amount: ₱16,248 new against ₱17,323 used at 36 months.

₱500,000 loan, new vs used monthly payment
BankTermNewUsed
BPI36 months₱16,355.56₱17,333.33
BPI48 months₱12,930.21₱13,979.17
RCBC36 months₱16,248₱17,323
RCBC48 months₱12,800₱13,928

Every term for your car

Car

Choose a brand

Down payment
Pay overCheapest bankMonthlyTotal interestTotal paid
12 monthsBDO₱86,757₱41,089₱1,291,089
18 monthsBDO₱59,140₱64,525₱1,314,525
24 monthsBDO₱45,800₱99,189₱1,349,189
36 monthsMaybank₱32,003₱152,100₱1,402,100
48 monthsUnionBank₱25,135₱206,500₱1,456,500
60 monthsUnionBank₱20,967₱258,000₱1,508,000

Example car, ₱1,250,000, brand new, at the bank with the lowest monthly for each term. Total paid includes the down payment, not insurance or one-time charges.

Are used car loans stricter, and which banks are more flexible?

Yes, on three fronts: down payment, loan-to-value and term. BPI finances up to 85% of a brand-new car's price against 70% for used.

Security Bank's gap is 80% versus 70% of appraised value, and its minimum down payment rises from 20% to 30% for a used unit.

BDO's terms shrink from a 5-year maximum on brand new to 4 years on pre-owned for personal use. Its minimum down payment also rises from 20% to 30%.

Maybank is the most flexible on term. It offers up to 60 months for used cars up to 10 years old, matching its own brand-new maximum.

See the full directory of used-car lenders for the rest.

BPI loan-to-value, new vs used
85% vs 70% of purchase price
Security Bank down payment, new vs used
20% vs 30%
BDO maximum term, new vs used (personal use)
5 years vs 4 years
Maybank used car term
Up to 60 months, matching its new-car maximum

How old can the car be, per bank?

Age limits vary by bank, and most are stated as vehicle age plus loan tenor rather than a flat cutoff. Security Bank allows the vehicle's age plus the loan's remaining term to reach 11 years.

BDO caps the year model at 6 years old by the time the loan matures. Maybank finances units between 1 and 10 years old outright.

Used car age limits, by bank
BankRule
Security BankVehicle age plus loan tenor within 11 years
BDOYear model within 6 years of loan maturity
MaybankUnit must be 1 to 10 years old
Metrobank, PNBNo used-car product; brand new only

Is approval slower for a used car?

At Security Bank, yes, and by design. Brand-new approval runs within 1 banking day, against 3 to 5 banking days for used.

That gap exists because a used unit needs inspection and appraisal first. Maybank quotes 3 days to process a used car loan.

See the full requirements checklist before you apply.

A used car loan also needs paperwork a brand-new application skips. Two items apply everywhere: an inspection and appraisal, and a car history check.

At Security Bank, add the LTO OR and CR under the seller's or applicant's name. Also add a notarized Deed of Sale and PNP clearance with macro etching.

5 of 5 still to check

Questions

Are used car loan rates higher than new car loan rates?

Yes, at every bank that keeps a separate used-car table. BPI's 60-month used-car rate is 44.32% add-on, 15.50% effective, against 31.01% add-on, 11.19% effective, for a brand-new car.

Are bank loans for used cars stricter than for brand-new cars, and which lenders are more flexible?

Yes on down payment, loan-to-value and term at most banks. Maybank is the most flexible, financing used cars up to 60 months and up to 10 years old.

Those are the same terms as its brand-new product.

How much higher is the monthly payment on a used car loan?

On a ₱500,000 BPI loan at 36 months, a used car costs about ₱978 more a month than a brand-new car. That gap is at each bank's own stated add-on rate.

Which banks do not finance used cars?

Metrobank and PNB state brand-new car loans only, with no separate second-hand product on their own pages.

How old can a used car be and still get financed?

It depends on the bank. Security Bank allows the vehicle's age plus the loan term to total 11 years.

BDO caps the year model at 6 years by loan maturity. Maybank finances units 1 to 10 years old.

What extra documents does a used car loan need?

Beyond the usual application papers, expect the seller's LTO OR and CR, a notarized Deed of Sale, and PNP Clearance with Macro Etching. For an imported unit, add the import papers, plus a bank-arranged inspection and appraisal.

Read next

Answer 5 questions to see the three car loans that fit you, or browse every car loan guide.