BDO vs BPI car loan 2026
On the same ₱1,000,000 brand new car loan over 60 months, BDO costs ₱341 less a month. Below: every term, your own car, and where each bank is ahead.
BDO vs BPI: monthly payment for your car
Pick your car and down payment. Both banks are priced on the same loan, so the difference is real.
Example car, ₱1,250,000, 20% down, 60 months, brand new
₱21,494/mo
10.50% rate, ₱1,547,514 in all
₱21,835/mo
31.01% rate, ₱1,560,600 in all
BDO costs ₱341 less a month, ₱20,466 less over 60 months.
BDO vs BPI rates by term
Brand new car, ₱1,000,000 loan. The lower monthly payment at each term is marked.
| Pay over | BDO rate | BDO monthly | BPI rate | BPI monthly | Difference a month |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 12 months | 7.50% | ₱86,757 | 5.43% | ₱87,858 | ₱1,101 less at BDO |
| 18 months | 8.00% | ₱59,140 | 7.73% | ₱59,850 | ₱710 less at BDO |
| 24 months | 9.25% | ₱45,800 | 11.30% | ₱46,375 | ₱575 less at BDO |
| 36 months | 10.00% | ₱32,267 | 17.76% | ₱32,711 | ₱444 less at BDO |
| 48 months | 10.25% | ₱25,483 | 24.13% | ₱25,860 | ₱378 less at BDO |
| 60 months | 10.50% | ₱21,494 | 31.01% | ₱21,835 | ₱341 less at BDO |
BDO: yearly rate on the balance. BPI: add-on rate for the whole term. Standard rates.
BDO vs BPI, point by point
| Point | ||
|---|---|---|
| Interest rate, brand new | 7.50% to 10.50% a year | 5.43% to 31.01% add-on |
| Monthly on ₱1,000,000, 60 months | ₱21,494 | ₱21,835, about 11.2% a year |
| Down payment | From 20% | From 15% |
| Loan term | Up to 5 years for personal use, 3 years for business use | 1 year minimum, up to 5 years |
| Loan amount | Minimum loan: ₱100,000 | Loan amount, brand new: ₱200,000 minimum, up to 85% of the purchase price |
| Second-hand cars | Yes, with its own rates | Yes, with its own rates |
| Minimum income | ₱50,000 a month (family) | ₱30,000 a month (household) |
| Decision | Within 24 hours | Not stated by BPI |
| Fees | DST ₱1.50 per ₱200; LTO encumbrance ₱380; notarial ₱500 a document | LTO encumbrance ₱500; mortgage cancellation ₱800 |
| Paying early | Not stated by BDO | Promo loans: no early payment in the first 3 years |
| How to apply | Submit the application form and documents online or at any BDO Loans Center | Apply through the online application form, at any of over 800 BPI branches, or at an accredited dealership |
Documentary stamp tax of ₱1.50 per ₱200 of the loan is a national tax and applies at every bank.
Requirements: BDO vs BPI
What each bank asks an employed borrower for. Business owners and OFWs: see each bank's page.
BDO
- Completely filled-out application form
- Photocopy of one valid ID matching the application, such as driver's license, passport, TIN ID, SSS ID or GSIS eCard
BPI
- Completed application form; both spouses sign if married, and a co-borrower fills in a separate form
- 2 valid IDs, for example PhilSys, SSS, driver's license or passport
- Pensioners: certificate of pension and 3 months of pension account bank statements
BDO or BPI: questions
Which is better, BDO or BPI car loan?
On the same ₱1,000,000 brand new car loan over 60 months, BDO costs ₱341 less a month (₱20,466 over the loan). BDO down payment: from 20%; BPI: from 15%. BDO decision: within 24 hours; BPI: not stated by bpi.
Which has the lower car loan rate, BDO or BPI?
Over 60 months for a brand new car, BDO charges 10.50% a year (₱21,494 a month on ₱1,000,000) and BPI 31.01% add-on (₱21,835). Compare the monthly payment, not the rate, when the two banks charge interest differently.
Which needs a lower down payment, BDO or BPI?
BDO: From 20%. BPI: From 15%.
More bank comparisons
- BDO vs Metrobank
- BDO vs PSBank
- BDO vs Security Bank
- BPI vs PSBank
- BPI vs Security Bank
- BPI vs UnionBank
- Metrobank vs BPI
- Metrobank vs RCBC
- Metrobank vs Security Bank
- PNB vs Landbank
- PSBank vs EastWest Bank
- RCBC vs UnionBank
- Security Bank vs Maybank
Not set on these two? Answer 5 questions to see the three car loans that fit you best.