Skip to content

Metrobank vs BPI car loan 2026

On the same ₱1,000,000 brand new car loan over 60 months, Metrobank costs ₱125 less a month. Below: every term, your own car, and where each bank is ahead.

Lower monthlyMetrobank
Lower minimum incomeBPI
Lends on second-hand carsBPI

Metrobank vs BPI: monthly payment for your car

Pick your car and down payment. Both banks are priced on the same loan, so the difference is real.

Car

Choose a brand

New or used
Down payment
Pay over

Example car, ₱1,250,000, 20% down, 60 months, brand new

Metrobank logo

₱21,710/mo

30.26% rate, ₱1,560,100 in all

BPI logo

₱21,835/mo

31.01% rate, ₱1,560,600 in all

Metrobank costs ₱125 less a month, ₱7,500 less over 60 months.

Metrobank vs BPI rates by term

Brand new car, ₱1,000,000 loan. The lower monthly payment at each term is marked.

Pay overMetrobank rateMetrobank monthlyBPI rateBPI monthlyDifference a month
12 months5.19%₱87,6585.43%₱87,858₱200 less at Metrobank
18 months7.61%₱59,7837.73%₱59,850₱67 less at Metrobank
24 months10.74%₱46,14211.30%₱46,375₱233 less at Metrobank
36 months16.90%₱32,47217.76%₱32,711₱239 less at Metrobank
48 months23.55%₱25,74024.13%₱25,860₱121 less at Metrobank
60 months30.26%₱21,71031.01%₱21,835₱125 less at Metrobank

Metrobank: add-on rate for the whole term. BPI: add-on rate for the whole term. Standard rates.

Metrobank vs BPI, point by point

PointMetrobank logo MetrobankBPI logo BPI
Interest rate, brand new5.19% to 30.26% add-on5.43% to 31.01% add-on
Monthly on ₱1,000,000, 60 months₱21,710, about 10.9% a year₱21,835, about 11.2% a year
Down paymentMinimum varies by vehicle typeFrom 15%
Loan term12 to 60 months1 year minimum, up to 5 years
Loan amountMinimum loan: ₱350,000Loan amount, brand new: ₱200,000 minimum, up to 85% of the purchase price
Second-hand carsNot stated by MetrobankYes, with its own rates
Minimum income₱40,000 a month (family)₱30,000 a month (household)
DecisionAs fast as 3 business daysNot stated by BPI
FeesDST ₱1.50 per ₱200; notarial ₱300 to ₱400LTO encumbrance ₱500; mortgage cancellation ₱800
Late payment5% a month on the unpaid amountNot stated by BPI
Paying early₱7,500 pre-payment processing feePromo loans: no early payment in the first 3 years
How to applyApply online, visit your nearest branch, or call the contact centerApply through the online application form, at any of over 800 BPI branches, or at an accredited dealership

Documentary stamp tax of ₱1.50 per ₱200 of the loan is a national tax and applies at every bank.

Requirements: Metrobank vs BPI

What each bank asks an employed borrower for. Business owners and OFWs: see each bank's page.

Metrobank

  • Filled-out and signed Metrobank Car Loan application form
  • One valid government-issued ID, preferably a passport
Metrobank car loan in full

BPI

  • Completed application form; both spouses sign if married, and a co-borrower fills in a separate form
  • 2 valid IDs, for example PhilSys, SSS, driver's license or passport
  • Pensioners: certificate of pension and 3 months of pension account bank statements
BPI car loan in full

Metrobank or BPI: questions

Which is better, Metrobank or BPI car loan?

On the same ₱1,000,000 brand new car loan over 60 months, Metrobank costs ₱125 less a month (₱7,500 over the loan). Metrobank down payment: minimum varies by vehicle type; BPI: from 15%. Metrobank decision: as fast as 3 business days; BPI: not stated by bpi.

Which has the lower car loan rate, Metrobank or BPI?

Over 60 months for a brand new car, Metrobank charges 30.26% add-on (₱21,710 a month on ₱1,000,000) and BPI 31.01% add-on (₱21,835). Compare the monthly payment, not the rate, when the two banks charge interest differently.

Which needs a lower down payment, Metrobank or BPI?

Metrobank: Minimum varies by vehicle type. BPI: From 15%.

More bank comparisons

Not set on these two? Answer 5 questions to see the three car loans that fit you best.

How we compare car loans.