Skip to content

BPI vs Security Bank car loan 2026

On the same ₱1,000,000 brand new car loan over 60 months, BPI costs ₱252 less a month. Below: every term, your own car, and where each bank is ahead.

Lower monthlyBPI
Lower down paymentBPI

BPI vs Security Bank: monthly payment for your car

Pick your car and down payment. Both banks are priced on the same loan, so the difference is real.

Car

Choose a brand

New or used
Down payment
Pay over

Example car, ₱1,250,000, 20% down, 60 months, brand new

BPI logo

₱21,835/mo

31.01% rate, ₱1,560,600 in all

Security Bank logo

₱22,087/mo

32.52% rate, ₱1,575,200 in all

BPI costs ₱252 less a month, ₱15,100 less over 60 months.

BPI vs Security Bank rates by term

Brand new car, ₱1,000,000 loan. The lower monthly payment at each term is marked.

Pay overBPI rateBPI monthlySecurity Bank rateSecurity Bank monthlyDifference a month
12 months5.43%₱87,8585.61%₱88,008₱150 less at BPI
18 months7.73%₱59,8508.44%₱60,244₱394 less at BPI
24 months11.30%₱46,37512.14%₱46,725₱350 less at BPI
36 months17.76%₱32,71118.18%₱32,828₱117 less at BPI
48 months24.13%₱25,86024.72%₱25,983₱123 less at BPI
60 months31.01%₱21,83532.52%₱22,087₱252 less at BPI

BPI: add-on rate for the whole term. Security Bank: add-on rate for the whole term. Standard rates.

BPI vs Security Bank, point by point

PointBPI logo BPISecurity Bank logo Security Bank
Interest rate, brand new5.43% to 31.01% add-on5.61% to 32.52% add-on
Monthly on ₱1,000,000, 60 months₱21,835, about 11.2% a year₱22,087, about 11.7% a year
Down paymentFrom 15%From 20%
Loan term1 year minimum, up to 5 years12 to 60 months brand new; 12 to 48 months second hand
Loan amountLoan amount, brand new: ₱200,000 minimum, up to 85% of the purchase priceLoan amount, brand new: ₱400,000 minimum, up to 80% of the purchase price
Second-hand carsYes, with its own ratesYes, with its own rates
Minimum income₱30,000 a month (household)Security Bank decides case by case
DecisionNot stated by BPI1 banking day, brand new
FeesLTO encumbrance ₱500; mortgage cancellation ₱800Security Bank lists them on the disclosure statement
Paying earlyPromo loans: no early payment in the first 3 yearsNot stated by Security Bank
How to applyApply through the online application form, at any of over 800 BPI branches, or at an accredited dealershipApply online or at your nearest branch

Documentary stamp tax of ₱1.50 per ₱200 of the loan is a national tax and applies at every bank.

Requirements: BPI vs Security Bank

What each bank asks an employed borrower for. Business owners and OFWs: see each bank's page.

BPI

  • Completed application form; both spouses sign if married, and a co-borrower fills in a separate form
  • 2 valid IDs, for example PhilSys, SSS, driver's license or passport
  • Pensioners: certificate of pension and 3 months of pension account bank statements
BPI car loan in full

Security Bank

  • Signed car loan application form
  • Valid government ID with signature and photo for borrower, spouse, co-borrower and co-maker: one primary or two secondary IDs
  • Dealer quotation
  • Used or imported units: OR/CR, deed of sale, PNP clearance and macro etching certificate; import papers for imported units
Security Bank car loan in full

BPI or Security Bank: questions

Which is better, BPI or Security Bank car loan?

On the same ₱1,000,000 brand new car loan over 60 months, BPI costs ₱252 less a month (₱15,100 over the loan). BPI down payment: from 15%; Security Bank: from 20%. BPI decision: not stated by bpi; Security Bank: 1 banking day, brand new.

Which has the lower car loan rate, BPI or Security Bank?

Over 60 months for a brand new car, BPI charges 31.01% add-on (₱21,835 a month on ₱1,000,000) and Security Bank 32.52% add-on (₱22,087). Compare the monthly payment, not the rate, when the two banks charge interest differently.

Which needs a lower down payment, BPI or Security Bank?

BPI: From 15%. Security Bank: From 20%.

More bank comparisons

Not set on these two? Answer 5 questions to see the three car loans that fit you best.

How we compare car loans.