Skip to content

BPI vs UnionBank car loan 2026

On the same ₱1,000,000 brand new car loan over 60 months, UnionBank costs ₱868 less a month. Below: every term, your own car, and where each bank is ahead.

Lower monthlyUnionBank
Lends on second-hand carsBPI

BPI vs UnionBank: monthly payment for your car

Pick your car and down payment. Both banks are priced on the same loan, so the difference is real.

Car

Choose a brand

New or used
Down payment
Pay over

Example car, ₱1,250,000, 20% down, 60 months, brand new

BPI logo

₱21,835/mo

31.01% rate, ₱1,560,600 in all

UnionBank logo

₱20,967/mo

25.80% rate, ₱1,508,000 in all

UnionBank costs ₱868 less a month, ₱52,100 less over 60 months.

BPI vs UnionBank rates by term

Brand new car, ₱1,000,000 loan. The lower monthly payment at each term is marked.

Pay overBPI rateBPI monthlyUnionBank rateUnionBank monthlyDifference a month
12 months5.43%₱87,8586.00%₱88,333₱475 less at BPI
18 months7.73%₱59,8508.35%₱60,194₱344 less at BPI
24 months11.30%₱46,37510.74%₱46,142₱233 less at UnionBank
36 months17.76%₱32,71115.63%₱32,119₱592 less at UnionBank
48 months24.13%₱25,86020.65%₱25,135₱725 less at UnionBank
60 months31.01%₱21,83525.80%₱20,967₱868 less at UnionBank

BPI: add-on rate for the whole term. UnionBank: add-on rate for the whole term. Standard rates.

BPI vs UnionBank, point by point

PointBPI logo BPIUnionBank logo UnionBank
Interest rate, brand new5.43% to 31.01% add-on6.00% to 25.80% add-on
Monthly on ₱1,000,000, 60 months₱21,835, about 11.2% a year₱20,967, about 9.4% a year
Down paymentFrom 15%Not stated by UnionBank
Loan term1 year minimum, up to 5 years12, 18, 24, 36, 48 or 60 months
Loan amountLoan amount, brand new: ₱200,000 minimum, up to 85% of the purchase priceNot stated by UnionBank
Second-hand carsYes, with its own ratesYes
Minimum income₱30,000 a month (household)UnionBank decides case by case
DecisionNot stated by BPIUp to 24 hours, or as fast as 5 minutes, depending on product and applicant
FeesLTO encumbrance ₱500; mortgage cancellation ₱800Borrower pays DST, notarial and registration fees; ₱5,000 off the chattel mortgage fee on promo loans to 31 December 2026
Late paymentNot stated by BPI5% a month on the unpaid monthly installment
Paying earlyPromo loans: no early payment in the first 3 yearsFull or partial prepayment on written request, paying the balance plus interest to that date
How to applyApply through the online application form, at any of over 800 BPI branches, or at an accredited dealershipUse Get a Quote or Apply Now on the auto loan page

Documentary stamp tax of ₱1.50 per ₱200 of the loan is a national tax and applies at every bank.

Requirements: BPI vs UnionBank

What each bank asks an employed borrower for. Business owners and OFWs: see each bank's page.

BPI

  • Completed application form; both spouses sign if married, and a co-borrower fills in a separate form
  • 2 valid IDs, for example PhilSys, SSS, driver's license or passport
  • Pensioners: certificate of pension and 3 months of pension account bank statements
BPI car loan in full

UnionBank

  • 2 government-issued IDs with signature
  • Proof of billing address
UnionBank car loan in full

BPI or UnionBank: questions

Which is better, BPI or UnionBank car loan?

On the same ₱1,000,000 brand new car loan over 60 months, UnionBank costs ₱868 less a month (₱52,100 over the loan). BPI down payment: from 15%; UnionBank: not stated by unionbank. BPI decision: not stated by bpi; UnionBank: up to 24 hours, or as fast as 5 minutes, depending on product and applicant.

Which has the lower car loan rate, BPI or UnionBank?

Over 60 months for a brand new car, BPI charges 31.01% add-on (₱21,835 a month on ₱1,000,000) and UnionBank 25.80% add-on (₱20,967). Compare the monthly payment, not the rate, when the two banks charge interest differently.

Which needs a lower down payment, BPI or UnionBank?

BPI: From 15%. UnionBank: Not stated by UnionBank.

More bank comparisons

Not set on these two? Answer 5 questions to see the three car loans that fit you best.

How we compare car loans.